a festive message

december

Earlier this year, I was thinking ahead, knowing that I would find a festive image when we visited Gloucester Cathedral. The nativity scene is just a small panel within one of the vast and beautiful stained glass windows which are such a wonderful feature of the Cathedral.

gloucestercathedralrev

The festive season:

It is not about Black Friday

It is not about Amazon deliveries

It is not about cards and gifts, or tables groaning with festive fare

It is about the amazing wheel of life that brings us round once again to the birth of a new year and another chance to figuratively start afresh; with whatever the new year may bring.

 The theme of the culmination of anticipation resulting in a birth can be symbolic of so many forms of new beginning, and new ways of living our lives. I am no Theologian and would never presume to sermonise but on a personal level, I welcome the symbolism of the nativity … though I would struggle to explain quite why. It just feels to me like a message of hope.

Light is a theme I return to frequently in my writing and I am very happy that we have just passed the winter solstice so that we are moving into the light again, with longer days bringing a renewed sense of optimism.

gloucestercathedral9

When you have experienced loss, particularly the loss of a child, each turn of the year’s circle cannot be anything other than poignant, as you step into another new year without that person. In the case of a child, who should most definitely not have died before you, you have lost the chance to watch he or she grow and mature and that is a desperately sad concept … but one which you have to live. You cannot put down your burden, you have to know that you will always carry it – but, the more ‘normally’ you can begin to live your life, the easier it becomes to shoulder the burden… of course, this happens over time.

If you have had a good year, I hope that 2015 will be even better.

If you have had a bad year, I hope that 2015 will see an upturn in your fortunes.

Thank you to everyone who has given me amazing support this year, whether that is emotionally, practically, through reading my book and this blog or generally being there for me. I couldn’t have done it nearly so well without you all.

gloucestercathedral13

7 thoughts on “a festive message

  1. Robbie Goldsmith

    Hi Andrea,
    I read your article in the Daily Mail today and found it very moving.
    I too lost my 19 year old son Paul when his fishing boat sank in Oct 1989.
    Although it is now 25 years ago, I think of him every day and often mention him in conversation as that way I keep him alive in our lives.
    He had only been married for 10 weeks and his young wife later committed suicide. Thank you for sharing your grief with us.
    God bless you and yours.
    Robbie.

    Reply
    1. Joyce levy

      Dear Andrea,,

      I am so sorry for your loss, my son was killed in a hit and run car traffic accident 18 years ago at Christmas. He was only 17 and now he has been gone longer than he was here. We miss him everyday and life is just so different, everything we do is tinged with so much sadness, my husband doesn’t cope very well and my other son misses his brother very much.

      With special love,

      Joyce

      Reply
  2. Mick

    Andrea – Just like to say thanks for a fab article in the Daily Mail on Monday. My Wife told me that I must read it. I could not believe everything you said happens to us regularly since we lost our son age 25 to Cancer Ten years ago in 2004. On colleague actually said to my wife “Have you got over it now” ? Anyway a big thanks and very well done to you.
    Mick

    Reply
    1. Andrea Corrie Post author

      Thank you very much for your kind comments and I am very sorry for your loss. It is unbelievable how insensitive people can be sometimes … as if we can ever ‘get over it’, but only we know that really. Best regards

      Reply

Leave a Reply

